Tags

, , ,

It is not a good idea to tidy up and disturb things in the winter as you could well disturb some hibernating creatures. Hornet3This is what I did and found a poor little Hornet which was trying to survive the winter. It was underneath an old root from the last generation of conifers which had been rooted out of the ground by the brash clearance last summer. It looked like an attractive piece of root and it was quite close to the footpath so I thought I would move it deeper into the woods were it would be less likely to be removed by anyone walking through the woods. You might think it unlikely that someone would take a piece of old wood, but it would look attractive in the garden and it is surprising what people take. I had left an old 10 litre plastic container full of water, hidden behind a tree and that went some time ago.  Why had I left it there? Well as a precaution in case a camp fire started to get out of hand. So getting back to the old root sculpture, I lifted it up and then noticed a Hornet in a little cavity which it had made for itself. It was moving but only just, because the temperature was about 3 degrees. This was no doubt a queen hornet which would have produced a new colony next year. I have nothing against Hornets, they are quite fearsome and buzz very loudly and fly very fast, but evidently they are much less aggressive than wasps or even honey bees. So they are very welcome.Hornet1 I took a few photos and then covered her over again, I could not do this with the old root as that night have resulted in me crushing the poor thing, so I found a flat piece of wood and carefully laid that on top. I then waited a little while so that it could get comfortable and resume a safe hibernating position and then I placed a much larger piece of wood carefully on top, this to provide more shelter and insulation.Hornet2 The moral of the story is not to interfere and tidy up or move stuff during the winter.

