Tags

, , , , ,

Because as I said in a previous post I am not an expert at mosses and lichens, I recently contacted the British Bryological Association for help with identification. They were very helpful and identified the species I had come across but have also informed me that there may be as many as 44 species present in Ninewells wood..
Below is a list and I am putting it on the blog so that I have it here for future reference.

If you are at all interested in mosses and liverworts then do have a look at their web site  (click on British Bryological Association above) and especially their photos, here is one I have copied from them to show just how stunning they can be.

Bryum capsule

Bryum capsule

(Des Callaghan’s beautifully detailed image of a Bryum capillare peristome can be found at https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Bryum_capillare_peristome.jpg.This page provides a large version of the file, that can be downloaded for free use, plus various details about the image. The real-world diameter of the subject is about 1.1 mm. The image is a composite stack of about 200 original images.)

This is the information I received.

I have explored Cleddon Bog and some of the wet woodland around it over the last 10 years, but have never visited Catbrook Wood as far as I can tell (I’m guessing where it is on the map from your earlier blog entries).  There’s a good chance you’ll have some interesting mosses and liverworts on your land, especially if there are any bouldery areas or ancient puddingstone/conglomerate walls.  In January 2002 I recorded 44 bryophyte species in “Ninewells Wood” with the most interesting species (* in list below) in an area of boulders and drystone walls around SO506036.  Several calcicoles were noted on a surfaced forestry track.  The list was:

Aneura pinguis, Atrichum undulatum, Barbilophozia attenuata*, Bazzania trilobata*, Brachythecium rutabulum, Bryum pseudotriquetrum s.l., Calliergonella cuspidata, Campylopus flexuosus, Cephalozia lunulifolia*, Cratoneuron filicinum, Dicranella heteromalla, Dicranella varia, Dicranoweisia cirrata, Dicranum majus*, Dicranum scoparium, Didymodon fallax, Didymodon insulanus, Diplophyllum albicans, Eurhynchium praelongum, Hypnum andoi, Hypnum jutlandicum, Isothecium myosuroides var. myosuroides, Jungermannia atrovirens, Leiocolea turbinata, Lepidozia reptans*, Lophocolea bidentata, Lophocolea heterophylla, Mnium hornum, Orthodontium lineare, Pellia endiviifolia, Pellia epiphylla, Plagiothecium curvifolium, Plagiothecium succulentum, Plagiothecium undulatum*, Pleurozium schreberi*, Pogonatum aloides, Pohlia wahlenbergii var. wahlenbergii, Polytrichum formosum, Pseudotaxiphyllum elegans, Racomitrium fasciculare*, Riccardia chamedryfolia, Scleropodium purum, Tetraphis pellucida, Thuidium tamariscinum.

I hope that will give you an idea of a few other species to look out for on your patch.

The ones that are underlined are ones I have seen….some way to go yet before I see even the majority of them.

