Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In the summer when the ‘brash man’ was removing the brash with his JCB I got him to dig a large hole which could potentially become a pond. Well it remained largely empty or occasionally had a very small puddle in the bottom. However today I visited the wood and it is now a pond. It has filled up in just one week. How long it will stay full I do not know but for now I have a little pond. Catbrook October 20140005 Also there are quite a few fungi growing and here are some photos. First is one called a Brown Roll rim (Paxillus involutus). It is brown and the edge of the cap (rim) rolls round so it is a good name. This fungus is poisonous and according to the books is potentially deadly.

Brown roll rim Paxillus involutus

Brown roll rim Paxillus involutus

There are also a lot of very attractive orange fungi which might be false chanterelle (Hygrophoropsis aurantica) or they might be Gymnopilus penetrans. Neither of these are edible and they both grow in pine woods.Catbrook October 20140008 Then there is a yellow russula fungus calledRussula ochroleuca.These are quite common and according to the book they are edible. I have never eaten them and do not think I ever will. There is a difference between being edible and being tasty.

Russula

Russula

There are quite a lot of earth balls (Scleroderma citrinium) which are a type of puff ball but again not edible.Catbrook October 20140002 Finally I did find one Boletus called a bay bolete which is edible and quite good but the one I found was well past its sell by date so I did not take its photo and left it where it was so that it can produce lots of spores and hopefully produce lots of bay boletes next year.

Hard fern

Hard fern

There are lots of other things making an appearance. Next year we should have loads of Foxgloves which should look quite colourful and also there are quite a few Hard ferns which I find quite attractive.

Young Foxgloves

Young Foxgloves

